I feel like this may have surfaced on another thread, but I couldn’t find it anywhere in a quick search and I wanted to make a note while it was on my mind…apologies if this is a duplicate.
I usually receive several dozen Tape notifications during a day.
I also strive to work proactively and batch my efforts rather than responding reactively to every notification that pops up.
Because of this, I often find myself ‘touching’ a record as part of my normal work, such as a project status update. At that time I see and process all recent activity and comments tied to that project.
Later on, while clearing out notifications, I always end up landing back on those same projects due to the notifications that were created by the work previously completed by collaborators. This creates a second touchpoint which wastes time as it requires (even for a few seconds) to glance over the details and determine whether there is additional new information to process, or if it was already resolved when I touched that project page earlier.
It would be very beneficial if once a user does a page load and interacts with the data (update a field, or add a comment, etc.) then all notifications for that record ID would be automatically marked as read for that user.
+1 datapoint.
I came today to post a new feature request, but luckily the community software was smart enough to point out what I was typing seemed very similar to this request that some guy had posted 8 months ago.
Well it’s me, back again. I didn’t remember this had already been created, but this same exact scenario bugged me enough to come take the time again to submit a feature request for it.
I often (probably unwisely) start a work morning by checking emails and seeing email alerts such as:
As these email don’t contain much context, I usually click through to see if it is something that needs my attention right away.
Later on when I’m inside a client’s Tape org, I’ll check my notification alerts that appear in app there, and get frustrated when it takes me to the exact same page that I already reviewed/responded on during my morning purge.
I really wish those notifications cleared after I had clicked through the email and gone to that record ID already.
+1 again.
I’m coming back here today because in recent weeks, this issue has become one of the most frustrating things for me when working in Tape.
Far too often I interact with a record multiple times because notifications don’t clear.
I strive to work based on carefully created pre-saved views showing which items deserve priority attention.
But because the notification on that item isn’t cleared when interacting with that record ID during the priority work pass through, I always end up back on the same record later on when checking notifications. It wastes time and reduces efficiencies because the notifications don’t clear while doing the ‘real work’