What happens to data when an account is deleted?

My client was wondering if data would be deleted if an account (that created the records) would be deleted. I’m quite sure that the data would not be deleted (of course not!). Right?

But what happens to fields like Created by? Also, I have a table Employees that hold the column User Account. What would be in those records when the employee leaves the company and the account is deleted?